Meet the WEB Team

webq&a 2

Michael Kleiman, Director/Producer/Editor

Michael is the co-director, co-producer, and editor of the documentary, The Last Survivor (2010), which won honors of Best Documentary and the Audience Award at the 2010 Oxford Film Festival and the Special Jury Prize in Documentary at the 2010 Dallas International Film Festival and the 2010 Indie Memphis Film Festival. In addition to his feature work, Kleiman has made a number of short films on international policy issues such as education, healthcare, and government transparency. In 2009, Michael was named a Fulbright Scholar by the U.S. State Department. He is currently a candidate for a Master’s Degree in Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, where is he a fellow at the Center for Public Leadership.


Michael Pertnoy, Producer/Editor

Michael is the founder of Righteous Pictures (RP), a film and new media production company that specializes in social issue documentaries and public engagement campaigns. He is the producer, co-director and editor of the award-winning documentary film, The Last Survivor. Previously, Michael worked as editor and post-production supervisor for the critically acclaimed documentary, Celia The Queen, about the life and times of salsa star, Celia Cruz. Michael has been a featured speaker at esteemed universities, as well as numerous conferences held around the world. Michael’s achievements were recognized by the Miami Herald in 2010 when he was the youngest person to be named one of South Florida’s “Top 20 business leaders under 40.


Sundial Pictures

Stefan Nowicki and Joey Carey founded Sundial Pictures in 2008 to produce independent documentary and narrative feature films. Since then they have produced Gillian Robespierre’s Obvious Child (A24), Brian Brightly’s LIARS ALL (Phase 4), and executive produced JIRO DREAMS OF SUSHI (Magnolia Pictures), Dee Rees’ PARIAH (Focus Features), Elgin James’ LITTLE BIRDS (Millennium Entertainment), Matt Ross’ 28 HOTEL ROOMS (Oscilloscope), and Doug Karr’s ART MACHINE (Film Buff). Sundial Pictures is in post-production on the dark comedy OBVIOUS CHILD starring Jenny Slate and the suspense horror film DARK WAS THE NIGHT. Other documentaries in production include HOW TO THE THINK LIKE A TREE about Biomimicry, the science of applying natures’ solutions to human problems, CITIZEN WEALTH which focuses on Wade Rathke, the founder of the community organizing group ACORN, and THE SEVENTH FIRE which follows a Native American community on a reservation in Minnesota caught between the violent rise of Native gangs and the fight for personal and cultural identity. Stefan and Joey live and work in New York City.


Kevin Iwashina, Executive Producer

Kevin Iwashina is a Managing Partner of Preferred Content, a film sales, project finance, and media advisory company. Founded in January 2010, Preferred Content (PC) specializes in the sale of North American and Worldwide distribution rights for both narrative and documentary filmed entertainment content. In addition to his responsibilities at PC, Iwashina is the Managing Partner of Preferred Ventures, a digital media venture fund. Iwashina also holds the title of Managing Director and Co-President of City Room Creative, a creative editorial and production services company. Lastly, he is partnered with Christine Vachon in Killer Digital, a production company focused in creating original content for digital platforms. Iwashina holds a B.A. in English Literature with a minor in French Language and Culture from U.C.L.A. He is active in the non-profit and political sectors and currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment (CAPE) and is a Member of the Board of Directors of the International Documentary Association (IDA).  He began his career in the mailroom at the United Talent Agency (UTA).

Executive Produced by Ross Dinerstein

Co-Produced by Thomas Sweeney

Associate Produced by Mischa Weisman, Abe Schwartz, Samuel Goldberg and Humberto Saco

Cinematography by Humberto Saco, Cesar Fajardo, Josh Miller, and Julien Diaz

Edited by Michael Kleiman and Michael Pertnoy

Music by Dan Teicher